top of page

P4C


P4C. Philosophy for Children. Last spring I went to a seminar at Texas A&M University to learn more about this program of teaching/learning. You can learn more about it on their site here. I am loving how much my students get into this style of learning. They have such endless curiosity (even in high school--still!) and a strong desire to self direct learning (more than just choosing from a menu of activities!). So much to unpack with all of this--I am sure I will have to write again--but I have a few big take away lessons for myself now that I have implemented it in a classroom.

1. This works with ANY group of kids and ANY topic. My biggest challenge was in GEOMETRY with a group of students who really didn't like each other much.

2. Students who do not get good grades in your class may actually be learning more than you realize. Some of the most brain-hurt amazing statements came from these students.

3. An edict of "sit and watch for a bit" is very effective at bringing in those students who would like to sabotage, domineer, or ridicule. After a break, they are then ready to participate respectfully -- I had my doubts!

4. BOTTOM LINE -- these students of mine who seem to bungle through most of the day/class have fantastic minds that are synthesizing material in ways I would never have had the privilege of observing other than through this P4C platform (nor have I seen it since outside of P4C).

My first reaction to the experience I have had with this is that something needs to give. How can we get these students to think and express their thoughts like this on a more regular basis? Remember, I am teaching high school here. There simply isn’t a whole lot of voluntary participation in a traditional high school Math classroom. Something about P4C...how can I use it more?


Who's Behind The Blog
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

This site reflects my personal thoughts, research and ideas and does not necessarily reflect the policies, views or opinions of my employers. You are invited to comment and share your own thoughts, ideas. and reflections here. I am looking forward to reading them.

bottom of page